Larger Type
Smaller Type



Words Matter! The 20th Anniversary of the Eldredge Prize
Friday, September 12, 2008

This event brought together fourteen winners of the museum's Charles C. Eldredge Prize, awarded annually to the author of the best book in the field of American art. Each speaker chose a word to muse upon—a word that is a critical term for the field, represents an especially compelling approach for the study of American art, or has galvanized his or her own scholarship. The schedule was as follows:

2:00–3:15 p.m.

"Words We Write By"
Introduction by Sarah Burns
Panelists: Wanda M. Corn, Caroline A. Jones, Margaretta M. Lovell, David M. Lubin, Angela L. Miller, Rebecca Zurier

3:30–4:45 p.m.

"Words that Inspire Scholarship"
Moderated by Sally M. Promey
Panelists: Anthony W. Lee, Richard Meyer, Edward J. Nygren, Sue Rainey, Alan Trachtenberg

5–6 p.m.

Lecture by the 2008 Eldredge Prize Winner
"Art Worlds: World Arts"
JoAnne M. Mancini

More about this year's winner (PDF)

Speakers and Their Words

View archived Webcast of this event.